Top 10 Christmas Tunes

I love Christmas. In fact, if you’ve been reading any of my other articles you’ll know that I love a lot of things – except X Factor of course.

Christmas songs are amazing. You hear them and you instantly want to sing along. After all, what Christmas is complete without your Bings, your Pogues and your Bublés?

This post was originally a top 5 however I wrestled with my Christmas conscience which argued that I couldn’t possibly pick just five and I lost. So, here is my top 10.

10. (Christmas) please come home – by Michael Bublé

Bublé provides the modern day Christmas hits. He revitalises this song with his signature suave.

9. Christmas is all around – Billy Mack (Love Actually)

For any fans of the film, this hilarious song is a perfect representation of a British Christmas.

8. Santa Baby – Kylie Minogue

Kylie performs my favourite version of this classic song.

Brass Band

Picture: Kerolic (via flickr). A brass brand playing music

7. Merry Christmas (War is over) – John Lennon & Yoko Ono

Rousing, inspiring and easy to pick up the chorus.

6. Do they know its Christmastime at all? – Band Aid

Classic song – includes all the stars at the time. I prefer the old version to the revamped version which included rapping. Rapping does not equal Christmassy.

5. Let it Snow, Let it snow, Let it snow – Frank Sinatra

Ol’ Blue eyes is the king of Christmas. The lyrics added to his silky tones are a match made in heaven.

4. Last Christmas – Wham!

Great video. Catchy song, a very romantic Christmas song about lost love.

3. Winter Wonderland

Another classic song.

2. White Christmas – Bing Crosby

First featured in the Film “Holiday Inn’, Bing has the ultimate deep voice for this fabulous song.

1. The Fairytale of New York – The Pogues ft Kirsty MacColl

The best song ever. For anytime of year. Getting away with the line “you scumbag, you maggot” in a Christmas song has to be a winner.

I hope my list has left you feeling festive. Tweet me at @Graceparkin1 and let me know your favourite song to get in the Christmas mood. #whattoohear

Leave a comment